Vanessa Perica is a composer, arranger, conductor based in Melbourne, Australia. Upon completion of her Bachelor degree in 2003 at the West Australian Academy of Performing Arts, she was awarded the prestigious Bob Wyllie Scholarship for ‘Most Outstanding Graduating Jazz Student.’ Other recipients of this honour include Linda May Han Oh, Mat Jodrell and Troy Roberts.
In 2019, Vanessa was a recipient of an Australia Council grant to record her debut album with an all-star lineup including Andrea Keller, Julien Wilson, Sam Anning, Mat Jodrell, Ben Vanderwal, Jordan Murray, Carl Mackey, Paul Williamson and Jamie Oehlers. Released in February 2020, the album titled ‘Love is a Temporary Madness’ has been critically acclaimed, reaching number 1 on the AIR Independent charts, and number 3 on the ARIA Jazz & Blues charts. The album was a nominee in the Australian Music Prize and AIR Awards, and won ‘Best Jazz Album’ at the 2020 Music Victoria Awards.
In February 2021, Vanessa was commissioned by the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra to write the ‘Love is a Temporary Madness’ Symphonic Suite. This was premiered by the MSO and Vanessa Perica Orchestra, and conducted by Benjamin Northey at the iconic Sidney Myer Music Bowl.
In November of the same year, the Vanessa Perica Orchestra joined forces once again with the MSO for the Melbourne International Jazz Festival’s ‘Opening Night Gala’ at Hamer Hall. They performed compositions and arrangements by Vanessa and Christopher Crenshaw (Jazz at Lincoln Center).
Most recently, she was a winner in the 2021 APRA Art Music Awards and Australian Jazz Bell Awards, and was a finalist in the Australian Women in Music Awards. Looking ahead, she is also a 2022 APRA Art Music Awards finalist for ‘Jazz Performance of the Year’ for her orchestra’s collaboration with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra.
Vanessa has appeared at the Sydney, Melbourne & Perth International Jazz Festivals, and is a Yamaha Artist.