Australian jazz music composed and performed by MELVE, a collaboration between Sam Hadlow, Sean Little, Austin Salisbury, Kane Shaw and Ryan Daunt.The five-piece ensemble formed at the beginning of 2018, made upof alumni from the prestigious West Australian Academy of Performing Arts. In October 2018, MELVE released its debut EP Volume one. which gained significant attention in the Perth jazz community and the broader music community. It was launched at the prestigious Perth International Jazz Festival in conjunction with radio station RTRFM’s Courtyard Club event held at the State Theatre Centre of WA. Further, Volume one. was selected as RTRFMs feature album in November 2018.Following on from Volume one., MELVE released the single “Boomerang” in 2019, recorded live in collaboration with WAYJO Downstairs at the Maj.

7th December 2019 marked the release of their first full length album –Take Care. Recorded by Brodie Stewart and mastered by New York’s Dave Darlington, Take Care features 11 original compositions and artwork by Matt Smith.

Sam Hadlow: trombone
Sean Little: saxophone
Austin Salisbury: piano
Kane Shaw: bass
Ryan Daunt: drums

Hyde Park, Sunday 8 Nov, 5:15pm

Free event